littoral chair research project

FEHNCY

Food, Environment, Health and Nutrition of First Nations Children and Youth

 

Context

FEHNCY is a pan-Canadian research project to better understand the socio-environmental determinants of health of children and youth aged 3 to 19 of First Nations  living on-reserve. This 10-year (2019-2029) interdisciplinary study is carried out in close collaboration with Aboriginal partners at the local, regional and national levels.  It is based on the findings of three studies: the First Nations Food, Nutrition and Environment Study (2008-2018), the First Nations Biomonitoring Initiative (2011-2012) and the First Nations Youth, Environment and Health Pilot Study (2014-2017). Beginning in September 2020, five to twelve First Nations communities will be randomly selected every year in each of the seven Assembly of First Nations regions to participate in the project.

The four components of the study include : 1) Food environments, food security, nutrition and health; 2) Housing conditions, indoor air quality and respiratory health; 3) Exposure to environmental contaminants and the social determinants of physical and mental health; and 4) Community mobilization, sharing and integrated knowledge application activities, and intergenerational capacity building

Objectives

  1. Guide government policies and recommendations for community programs to improve the health of First Nations children and youth
  2. Assess the influence of food environments, nutrition and food security on health and well-being, quantify environmental contaminants exposure, and examine the relationship between housing conditions, indoor air quality and health
  3. Contribute to intergenerational capacity building in First Nations communities and Assembly of First Nations regions

 

Our team is responsible for the clinical component of the project, which will be carried out using the FEHNCYMobile, our mobile clinic. We will also participate in various community mobilization activities using visual and performing arts.

Team members involved

Funded by
  • Indigenous Services Canada – First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
  • Health Canada
Principal investigators
  • Laurie Chan and Tom Kovesi (University of Ottawa)
  • Tonio Sadik and Irving Leblanc (Assembly of First Nations)
  • Mélanie Lemire
  • Richard Bélanger
  • Pierre Ayotte and Émilie Bélanger (CHU de Québec – Université Laval Research Centre)
  • Malek Batal and Geneviève Mercille (Université de Montréal)
  • Treena Delormier et Mylène Riva (McGill University )
  • Jiping Zhu (Health Canada)

Visit our website to learn more about FEHNCY

FOLLOW US!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

projet de la chaire littoral

FEHNCY

Food, Environment, Health and Nutrition of First Nations Children and Youth

Alimentation, environnements, nutrition et santé des enfants et jeunes des Premières Nations

Contexte

FEHNCY est un projet de recherche pancanadien visant à mieux comprendre les déterminants socio-environnementaux de la santé des enfants et des jeunes de 3 ans à 19 ans des Premières Nations vivant dans des réserves. Cette étude interdisciplinaire sur 10 ans (2019-2029) est réalisée en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires autochtones à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale. Elle a été mise sur pied d’après les conclusions de trois études: l’Étude sur l’Alimentation, la Nutrition et l’Environnement chez les Premières Nations (2008-2018), l’Initiative de biosurveillance des Premières Nations (2011-2012) et l’Étude pilote Jeunes, Environnement et Santé des Premières Nations (2014-2017). À partir de septembre 2020, cinq à douze communautés des Premières Nations par année seront choisies au hasard dans chacune des sept régions de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations pour participer au projet.

Les quatre composantes de FEHNCY sont: 1) l’environnement alimentaire, la sécurité alimentaire, la nutrition et la santé; 2) les conditions de logement, la qualité de l’air à l’intérieur et la santé respiratoire; 3) l’exposition aux contaminants environnementaux et les déterminants sociaux de la santé physique et mentale; 4) la mobilisation communautaire, le partage et les activités intégrées d’application des connaissances, et le renforcement intergénérationnel des capacités.

Objectifs

  1. Orienter les politiques gouvernementales et les recommandations relatives aux programmes communautaires dans le but d’améliorer la santé des enfants et des jeunes des Premières Nations
  2. Étudier l’influence des environnements alimentaires, de la nutrition et de la sécurité alimentaire sur la santé et le bien-être, quantifier l’exposition aux contaminants environnementaux, et examiner la relation entre les conditions de logement, la qualité de l’air intérieur et la santé
  3. Contribuer au renforcement des capacités intergénérationnelles au sein des communautés des Premières Nations et des régions de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations

Notre équipe est responsable du volet clinique du projet, qui sera réalisé à l’aide de la FEHNCYMobile, notre clinique mobile. Nous participerons également à différentes activités de mobilisation des communautés en utilisant les arts visuels et du cirque.

Membres de l’équipe impliqués

Financé par
  • Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit
  • Santé Canada
Chercheurs principaux
  • Laurie Chan et Tom Kovesi (Université d’Ottawa)
  • Tonio Sadik et Irving Leblanc (Assemblée des Premières Nations)
  • Mélanie Lemire
  • Richard Bélanger
  • Pierre Ayotte et Émilie Bélanger (Centre de recherche du CHU de Québec – Université Laval)
  • Malek Batal et Geneviève Mercille (Université de Montréal)
  • Treena Delormier et Mylène Riva (Université McGill)
  • Jiping Zhu (Santé Canada)

Visitez notre site web pour en savoir plus!

SUIVEZ-NOUS!

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email